What are the Four Marian Dogmas?

27 May

Did you know that there are four dogmas of the Catholic Church, stating Mary’s personal relationship with God and her role in human salvation. They are:

  • Divine Motherhood – Mary’s divine motherhood (i.e. Mary is the Mother of God) was proclaimed at the Council of Ephesus in 431.
  • Perpetual Virginity – the Catholic Church holds as dogma that Mary was and is Virgin before, in and after Christ’s birth.
  • Immaculate Conception – Proclaimed as an independent dogma by Pope Pius IX in 1854, the dogma of the Immaculate Conception states “that the most Blessed Virgin Mary, from the first moment of her conception, by a singular grace and privilege from Almighty God and in view of the merits of Jesus Christ, was kept free of every stain of original sin.”
  • The Assumption – This marian dogma was proclaimed by Pope Pius XII on November 1, 1950 on his Encyclical Munificentissimus Deus.

How much do you know about these four dogmas? Visit this article for an explanation.